‹ See All Cat Food
Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe Dry Cat Food

Beyond® Superfood Blend Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe Dry Cat Food

High-quality, nutrient-dense cat food formula

High-quality, natural nutrition and essential nutrients to help support your cat’s long-term health.

Sizes: 3 lb.| 6 lb.

Product Overview

It all starts with the ingredients. Naturally.

It’s about knowing exactly what your pet is eating – real, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus essential nutrients. We thoughtfully select natural ingredients that work together to deliver the right nutrition to help your pet live a long healthy life.

Ingredients included in Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe
Ratings & Reviews
Beyond ® Superfood Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe Dry Cat Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 137.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Our cat loves this food. I hope this flavor is never discontinued because I have tried others and he won't eat it! He loves loves loves this super food recipe
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been feeding this to my cat since it came out he loves it
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves it! Started my cat on this over a year ago. He is so much happier and seems healthier. Less hairballs, and less mess in the litter box. He won't eat anything else now!
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good product My cats really like this food. I've noticed less throw up since I stated feeding them Beyond. I mix it up with some Purina Naturals and they seem pleased.
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat has had an allergy to the other dry foods. this brand is the best , he has really shown an improvement .....wont feed my older cat anything other brand again.
Date published: 2016-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love the Beyond Superfood. I have been buying all three flavors of the Beyond, for quite a few years now...the chicken, the salmon and the Superfood blend. They all seem to love the Superfood the best! I was so happy to find this food as now, there is finally, a dry cat food that is affordable, that has good ingredients and the first ingredients listed are truly real food! My problem is now I am having a problem finding the Superfood variety. I always purchased it at WalMart and I am no longer seeing this flavor there. PetSmart also carries the other flavors, but not this one. PLEASE do not discontinue the Superfood Blend variety!
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mrs I have a year old man cat who is very picky. I tried every flavor on him and he wouldn't touch. He loves the herring which shocked me. He loves your canned tuna.Do you have a dry tuna flavor?I would love to find other flavors, because recently got a new cat, and she likes chicken,I'd love to find then something they'd both eat
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato My cat LOVES this dry food. Unfortunately, I can't find it at Target anymore. My cat loves it sooo much, I will have to buy online. Please DON'T stop selling this product.
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! My Maine Coon kitten has turned her nose up at almost all foods. It has been an agony for a year. Hours and hours and hours reading ingredient lists. Bottom line, what does she like, what will she eat. Switched her to the Beyond Chicken dry formula, and she can't stay away from the food bowl now! Her sensitive tummy issues are resolving, she is finally gaining weight, and meal time is a pleasure for her now. She goes face down into the bowl! So happy to see her enjoying her food for the first time! Thanks Purina! This is a great product. Anyone who has a problem paying a couple extra pennies per nutritious meal? IT'S WORTH IT!!!
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good food - but only small bags My two teenage cats love the food. They eat it heartily like any growing teenager. I can't afford to buy all natural foods from small producers. This is the next best thing. It's less expensive than most top shelf foods. Maybe the ingredients are not top notch. But, this food is a good price for the quality. However, it's more inconvenient and expensive than necessary since it only comes in 3 or 6 pound bags. I would be happier if they offered it in large bags. Otherwise this product would have gotten a higher rating from me.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I am so happy with this product! My cat has no digestive issues with this product! Before Beyond, I was giving her expensive name brand dry cat foods in an attempt to help her with her digestive issues. Nothing truly helped. After reading about Beyond, I decided to give it a try. I am gald I did! My cat's digestive issues are much better and her general well being has improved!
Date published: 2016-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good ingredients! I was attracted by the list of ingredients. Not a "Grain Free" product but nevertheless a great source of nutrition for my cat. No tender stomach issues, no rejection for taste or texture. I wish it cost a bit less but a good buy nonetheless.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves this Since switching to beyond, my kitty has been so happy. She used to get sick from her food, but this has helped with her tummy issues.
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fish still has chicken in it My cat can not eat any chicken at all. The advertisement boasts "no chicken by-product meal". I am thinking at last another cat food other than EVO that has zero chicken in it. I checked the listed ingredients just to be sure, and guess what, it has chicken meal in it!Why can't manufactures leave the chicken out completely? I have found only one brand that fits the bill and I can only mail order it.
Date published: 2016-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Heidi, my dog, loves all of the dried foods. That is the one thing I now she will inhale. She eats half her bowl in the a.m. and saves the other half until about 4 p.m. This is her doing-not mine. It's like she saves it for s snack! Keep up the caring work and thank you for the $3.00 coupon I got.
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very happy with this cat food My older cat had dry sick problem and a friend suggested another cat food brand. I thought I would try beyond first. His skin and fur is looking so much better. They do like this flavor didn't like the salmon at all and I gave that flavor to the outdoor cats. the only thing is the food has a strong odor but I think that is just because it is a better quality than what I was buying.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love it! 3 cats,oldest is 20, youngest 12. None of them have thrown up since starting on Beyond. I've had them on prescription food, non-prescription "high-quality" (read: expensive) food, etc. for years and this is the first time I haven't had fun surprises to clean up everywhere!
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Food I have been feeding my 10 yr old Tabby Beyond Superfood Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe for a few years. She likes it & I like that it doesn't have any artificial ingredients, coloring or by products. I think Purina is a brand I can trust & it's made in the USA!
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 types of cat owners... Hello, I'm a fairly new cat own, but I've been around cats most of my life and until recent have had many cats but never was a cat owner, more of a cat-sitter and up till now never truly claimed one for my self. I have discovered that there are two (2) types of cat people, cat-sitters, and cat owners. The first type has a cat or multiple cats, enjoys there company conveniently, and gives only enough time and effort to their cat(s) to keep the relationship in a steady sort of stagnating bond, consisting of a mutual nature/nurture fidelity, not to concerned about health other then what may be observed the few minutes a day they may have for their pet, free-feeding due a hectic work schedule, procrastinating lifestyle, or simply lack of care for their pets nutrition. To the second type of cat(s) owner is one who observes the cat as much as they observe you, watching every move their curious critter makes, looking them right into the eyes and connecting with their feral instinct, almost telepathically communicating with each other, know what their feeling just by their body moments, speaking to one another all day with out a single word exchanged. Coming home and greeting one another with a love that has no conditions, boundaries, or expectation, just pure simple bonds of a cat owner and friend. Meeting your pet half way between Human and animal, cat owners who understand why they have chosen a cat as a member of the house hold, to remind them of what we once came from, our origins from the wild, free, outdoors. If you are the first type of cat owner I recommend you take sometime from your busy schedule and get to know your cat as well as yourself and discover the wonderful joy of being a cat friend and not just an owner. If you are the second type of cat owner then you already know that Purina Beyond Superfood Blend Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe is the best choice for any cat that is in a loving and caring home. The Purina Beyond Natural Cat Food selection are made with the utmost care and concern for your furry little loved one(s), containing No Corn, Wheat, soy, poultry by-product meal, No Added artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives. Also Grain-free and gluten free, an important and key difference for their sensitive digestive systems. I love the new Purina Beyond selections for my cat and would recommend it to all pet owners. I'm Doru and I used to be a cat-owner for most of my adult life, until I recently became a cat-friend, adopting my furry buddy Bandit and rescuing him from euthanasia, reconnecting with our natural roots. I challenge all of you to try this product and see the vast difference it will make in the quality of life for your pet and yourself, reminding ourselves why we have pets in our homes to begin with, to have that constant reminder of who we are, where we have been, where we are going, and what were going to do when we get there.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome outcomes My has a very sensitive digestive system, which causes him to regurgitate after his daily meals. However since changing his food, his digestive system has improved tremendously!!!!! He is able to keep his food down after each meal!!!!I can't THANK you enough!!!!!
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my cats sensation stomach Tried this food for my cat with a sensation stomach. It works great. He loves it. He has not experienced any vomiting when eating this food. He only eats this particular flavor
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthiest Value for Your Dollar I've got a cat with a chronic digestive issue. This food has practically eliminated all of our concerns. As a cat owner of 30+ years, take it from me. This is great kibble. We'very researched ingredients in dozens of high-end feeds, and tested many.
Date published: 2016-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Expensive I started buying this food about 6 months ago. My cats like it ok.My biggest problem is this food is very expensive and they never want to give no more than one coupon. Six months of purchases I think I should be able to get more than 1 coupon. Come on peple its catfood.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They love it! I had been feeding my cats Beyond moist for a few months, and they enjoyed it. The only reason I didn't purchase the Beyond dry was cost. When I had a coupon, I decided to splurge on a bag. They love it! I prefer feeding natural/organic, or at least better quality food to my pets. However, even without the benefit of future coupons, I think the cost will be worth it.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves it! We bought for my cat at thanksgiving. So he could have a wonderful dinner too. Since starting on this he hasn't had so many tummy troubles! And he really loves the food. Not so finicky anymore, cleans his bowl!
Date published: 2015-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to find My cat has IBS and this food helps keep it in check, but it isn't carried by everyone who sells the product - and it's expensive.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GOOD TO MIX My cat seems to like the taste however I have to mix it with another dry food so she will get enough because the pieces are too big. This would be a great cat food if the pieces were a little smaller. My dog loves to steal a bite.
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm more comfortable with this cat food than any p One of the issues we worries about was kidney problems with our male, feral cat. Real meat, no grain makes us very happy and he likes it. There is still a "junk food junkie" in our baby, but he's eating the Beyond just fine and as time goes on I know he'll be enjoying other flavors, too. What a beautiful, silky coat he's grown!We've taken on another feral cat, about 3 years old is our best guess, and we hope to get him healthy and happy using the Beyond products:>)We appreciate the coupon as we live on a fixed income but want the very best for our kitties.Thanks!
Date published: 2015-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4 Cats all approve My cats are so happy we brought this home. Finally, a dry food that gets eaten to the bottom of the bowl. We've tried two other flavors, also, but this is the one our cats love the best. Thank you, Beyond.
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond Belief I bought this with a coupon I received from Beyond. I could not believe the ingredients...Sweet potatoes?? I'll give it a try. Was I ever surprised...My cats, even the finicky one, loved it. Clean bowls all around. It smelled great...a good sign. Made me want to try it too.
Date published: 2015-10-29
  • y_2018, m_3, d_19, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_137
  • loc_en_US, sid_17800-16369, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_purina-beyond
Ingredients & Nutrition
Herring, chicken meal, brewers rice, barley, pea protein, oat meal, dried egg product, beef fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols, dried yeast, sweet potatoes, natural liver flavor, canola meal
Essential Nutrients Added for a Complete and Balanced Meal

fish oil, salt, sodium bisulfate, phosphoric acid, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, choline chloride, L-Lysine monohydrochloride, taurine, Vitamin E supplement, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, niacin, Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, copper sulfate, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, calcium iodate, biotin, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of Vitamin K activity), sodium selenite.

Manufactured and guaranteed by: Nestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA
Purina Beyond Superfood Blend Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance of adult cats.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (MIN)
Crude Fat (MIN)
Crude Fiber (MAX)
Moisture (MAX)
Linoleic Acid (MIN)
Calcium (Ca) (MIN)
Phosphorus (P) (MIN)
150 ppm
Zinc (Zn) (MIN)
0.35 ppm
Selenium (Se) (MIN)
12,000 IU/kg
Vitamin A (MIN)
150 IU/kg
Vitamin E (MIN)
Feeding Instructions
Adult Cat Feeding Instructions

These recommended feeding amounts are based on using a standard 8 oz/250 ml measuring cup which contains approximately 112 g of Purina Beyond. Use the recommended amount to fill your cat’s bowl in the morning, so your cat can enjoy Purina Beyond throughout the day. Ideal body condition should be maintained by adjusting this amount based on your cat's age, activity and environment. Nutritional needs will change over time. You can best serve your pet by feeding the amount that maintains a healthy weight, whereby you can easily feel your cat's ribs.

Making the Switch to Beyond

Although you’ll be anxious to see the difference Purina Beyond can make in your cat, please allow 7 - 10 days to ease the transition from your cat's current food. This will help avoid stomach upset. Each day, simply feed a little less of the previous food and a little more Purina Beyond until you’re feeding Purina Beyond exclusively.

No Supplements Necessary

Purina Beyond provides 100% complete and balanced nutrition for adult cats. There is no need to add vitamins, minerals or other supplements, unless specifically directed by a veterinarian.

Fresh Water, Proper Diet & Veterinary Care

Be sure to provide fresh water in a clean container for your cat daily. Proper diet, exercise and veterinary care are the best ways to keep your cat healthy. If your cat hasn’t had a check-up in the past year, please make an appointment today.

Calorie Content (calculated) 3656 kcal/kg 408 kcal/cup

Recommended Daily Feeding Amounts
Weight Amount to Feed
5 to 9 lbs. (2.3-4.1 kg) 1/4 to 2/3 cup (28-74 g)
10 to 14 lbs. (4.5-6.4 kg) 2/3 to 1 cup (74-112 g)