‹ See All Cat Food
Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe Dry Cat Food

Beyond® Superfood Blend Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe Dry Cat Food

High-quality, nutrient-dense cat food formula

High-quality, natural nutrition and essential nutrients to help support your cat’s long-term health.

Sizes: 3 lb.| 6 lb.

Product Overview

It all starts with the ingredients. Naturally.

It’s about knowing exactly what your pet is eating – real, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus essential nutrients. We thoughtfully select natural ingredients that work together to deliver the right nutrition to help your pet live a long healthy life.

Ingredients included in Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe
Ratings & Reviews
Beyond ® Superfood Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe Dry Cat Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 137.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Meow Cat says Thank You. This new food is really good. (The cat wrote this review because I didn't taste it. He doesn't share.)
Date published: 2015-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat loves this!! I bought this last week as we are trying to feed my cat grain free foods....she LOVES this combo...and...it's good for her too. The only problem is that I have to put the bag where she can't get to it....or she will help herself!!
Date published: 2015-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Limited ingredients I have bought the Beyond Chicken and the Lamb but they truly love the Herring one. They also love the Purina One too
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommended I bought this food after researching the best cat food. This was my compromise between price and quality. It is the best food you can get for the price. I feel great feeding it to my cat, and she loves it too! I mixed it with her old food, but she would only eat the Beyond kibbles and left her old food in the bowl.
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat's favorite I can tell this has real ingredients because when I pour into my cat's food dish I can smell the fish odor. I'm so glad you make this product!! I'll never change - except to try another Beyond product!
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Cats Won't Let Me Buy Anything Else! I have 5 cats. Several of them have had chronic tummy issues that would cause them to vomit after eating. The vet found them to be in great health so I knew it had to be the food they were eating. The vet gave several suggestions as did some employees in the pet store. I tried those and my cats still became ill. I found Beyond and decided to give it a try. The vomiting stopped!! They LOVE this food too. I have tried to buy other brands when I couldn't find Beyond at the store and was in a pinch needing something quickly and my cats refused to eat it and even tried covering it up. It was food they previously enjoyed! All they want is the Superfood Herring, Egg and Sweet Potato food. The only thing I can find fault in with this food is that I wish it came in the large bags so I wouldn't have to constantly buy more!
Date published: 2015-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Cats Love This I have two cats and this Beyond is what they like the best. I've tried a few of the others but my cats didn't seem to enjoy those ones as much as they did the super blend. Thank you for providing this enriching food blend as a product!
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! Finally, a dry food we both like! My cat, Punkin loves this food. This food actually smells like fish......hahahaha and its ingredients are all food. REALLY......LOVE IT!
Date published: 2015-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! I had been thinking about switching my cats from Purina Pro, to something that was easier to acquire, (the closest store to sell that is 27 miles away) but hopefully just as good for the cats, so after receiving a Beyond coupon I decided it was time to try that. It is everything I've been looking for and more. The cats love the Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato, I trust the Purina ingredients, so far Woody's coat looks as good as on the Pro Sensitive Skin formula, and best of all, it is readily available at my local market.All in all, a winning combination for us. Thank you so much, Purina!
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY CATS CAN'T GET ENOUGH!! I bought this after reading a couple of reviews and also because I had a $5.00 off coupon. When I got home I gave a few kibbles to both cats as "treats" and they loved it! I have a 16 year old cat & a 5 year old cat, both ate this without having any stomach upset (which is pretty normal for other kinds of food). I am very happy and pleased with this product, thank you!!
Date published: 2015-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Local Favorite In a pinch, my neighbor got a bag of Beyond dry cat food from me and put some side-by-side with their old brand. Well, their cats voted with their stomachs, loud and clear. No longer would they eat the old brand, but noshed away, much happier with the taste and texture of Beyond. My Balinese and Weegie are both big fans.
Date published: 2015-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my cat loves this food! my rescue cat, Nurse Betty, is 6+ years old and currently up to 12 1/2 lbs and had many issues when I got her from the pound. I tried Iams and she had issues. I decided to try Rachel Rays organic and then I found this Superfood with Herring, Egg and Sweet Potato. My cat is obsessed with this food. I had some Rachel Rays left so I put it into the bowl with the Superfood and she would flip the Rachel Rays out of the bowl onto the floor to get to the Herring Superfood. She is very happy.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good stuff My cat loves it!.I bought this product awhile back
Date published: 2015-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my Cat's Life I was just told my cat is borderline diabetic the prescription food is SO Expensive I have 4 cats to feed and they all wanted the prescription food. After researching cats with diabetes need High Protein Diet. Well Beyond was highly recommended. I read the ingredients and they have the highest Protein content available. They are almost 1/2 the price of the prescription food and with coupons I save even more. All 4 of my cats are now on this diet and Love IT!!
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i finally found something my cat really likes I have tried both products and my cat loves them all
Date published: 2015-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made in USA The dry food..I like it because it is made here. It doesn't have all the fillers and garage that other dry foods have. It is affordable but not cheap.My cats like it and did from the very first. I alternate the flavors or else they turn their noses up. I mix two flavors together and that seems to do it. The wet food is way too expensive for me as I am on a very limited income. Every now and then I give them a treat and feed them a can of wet food which I split between them (I have 2). My question is, why is your product not available in pet stores like Petsmart where I normally shop?
Date published: 2015-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cat's favorite ! My cat loves all the flavors of Beyond but this is his absolute favorite. I made a mistake by putting the bag down to bring more groceries in. In the span of 2 minutes he had chewed a huge hole in the bag and helped himself to this flavor for the first time.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Cats Love Beyond I put the food they've been eating all their lives (Science Diet) in their bowl, then put Beyond in a bowl next to it. They cleaned out the Beyond bowl and barely touched their regular food. Didn't even have to slowly get them accustomed to the Beyond. They were all over it from the get go.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! Our cats thrive on this...they LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the tastes of ALL the Beyond products! And to let you know, these are SPOILED babies too...LOL ;)They especially like the, Beyond ® Superfood Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe Dry Cat Food! They turn up their noses at any other product except Beyond! And it's good for them also! ;)
Date published: 2015-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superfood -Protein I bought this after reading alot about cheaper cat food, my cat loves to eat...So I began reading, Purina makes a wide variety- however, not all food is created equal. I wanted a recipe that was "good protein based food"... My cat loves this and hopefully won't be overeating. Cheaper food doesn't fill you up as well..Macaroni is not finicky and would probably eat any food...but I was looking for quality.
Date published: 2015-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Beyond! I switched my cats to Beyond and they just love it! My cats were all very picky eaters and now with Beyond, they each have a flavor they like and nothing is being wasted. I feel good about it because of the ingredients. They all really enjoy the Herring the most! Here's a picture of 3 of the 5 after breakfast!
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helped a Chronic Skin Issue My cat has serious skin issues,contact dermatitis,etc. I have tried over 20 different foods (wet and dry) changing detergents, using medications and nothing really helped relieve his sores. He just finished his first bag (about 3 weeks) and already has improved quite a lot. He eats very little wet food now, and I'm stopping wet completely for a few days then switching to the beyond wet food. It is definitely worth at least a try, I am glad I did.
Date published: 2015-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love it When i switched to this food my cats allergies went away. This has real meat no by products and other great ingredients. After taking badic nutrition for my vet tech degree i realized i was feeding them unhealthy food so i switched!
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Favorite My sister gave me some of this food and my cats loved it!
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All 4 of my cats love this dry food! Finally dry cat food that all my cats like and can eat despite dietary issues. The bowl is always empty! We had to switch to mainly grain-free food after one cat developed allergies. It is convenient to be able to purchase special dry food at our local grocery store instead of having to visit the pet food store.
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Cats Liked this Natural Food I got this with a coupon and my cats liked it. I'm on a budget though and the price is on the high end so I don't know that I'd purchase again without a coupon.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good, but pricey...... i had gotten a coupon, so we tried it. i love what the ingredients label has to say, and the cat(hercules) for sure enjoys the food, unfortunately i'll probably only get it when i can get another coupon. sorry herc-
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats love this! I recently bought this flavor for the cats to try and they loved it. The only problem I have is the two stores that I purchase this at are discontinuing this flavor. I had been using only the Chicken flavor until I tried this. It is too bad that it is not going to be around anymore.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All my cats love this, and its healthy for them too.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I bought this a couple of weeks ago and I am so glad I did!! My cats love this food so much! I had run out of food and had bought some 'big name' food. Well, my one cast refused to eat it. He ended up getting super sick, lost weight, and became very lethargic.Literally, as soon as he started eating your food, he had become healthy again. He is playing again (something that he hasn't done in a very long time) and he is looking the best he has looked in months! Believe me, it's great to look at the bowl and see it empty! Thank you thank you thank you for bringing back my baby!
Date published: 2015-07-04
  • y_2018, m_3, d_20, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_137
  • loc_en_US, sid_17800-16369, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_purina-beyond
Ingredients & Nutrition
Herring, chicken meal, brewers rice, barley, pea protein, oat meal, dried egg product, beef fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols, dried yeast, sweet potatoes, natural liver flavor, canola meal
Essential Nutrients Added for a Complete and Balanced Meal

fish oil, salt, sodium bisulfate, phosphoric acid, calcium carbonate, potassium chloride, choline chloride, L-Lysine monohydrochloride, taurine, Vitamin E supplement, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, niacin, Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, copper sulfate, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, calcium iodate, biotin, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of Vitamin K activity), sodium selenite.

Manufactured and guaranteed by: Nestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA
Purina Beyond Superfood Blend Herring, Egg & Sweet Potato Recipe is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance of adult cats.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (MIN)
Crude Fat (MIN)
Crude Fiber (MAX)
Moisture (MAX)
Linoleic Acid (MIN)
Calcium (Ca) (MIN)
Phosphorus (P) (MIN)
150 ppm
Zinc (Zn) (MIN)
0.35 ppm
Selenium (Se) (MIN)
12,000 IU/kg
Vitamin A (MIN)
150 IU/kg
Vitamin E (MIN)
Feeding Instructions
Adult Cat Feeding Instructions

These recommended feeding amounts are based on using a standard 8 oz/250 ml measuring cup which contains approximately 112 g of Purina Beyond. Use the recommended amount to fill your cat’s bowl in the morning, so your cat can enjoy Purina Beyond throughout the day. Ideal body condition should be maintained by adjusting this amount based on your cat's age, activity and environment. Nutritional needs will change over time. You can best serve your pet by feeding the amount that maintains a healthy weight, whereby you can easily feel your cat's ribs.

Making the Switch to Beyond

Although you’ll be anxious to see the difference Purina Beyond can make in your cat, please allow 7 - 10 days to ease the transition from your cat's current food. This will help avoid stomach upset. Each day, simply feed a little less of the previous food and a little more Purina Beyond until you’re feeding Purina Beyond exclusively.

No Supplements Necessary

Purina Beyond provides 100% complete and balanced nutrition for adult cats. There is no need to add vitamins, minerals or other supplements, unless specifically directed by a veterinarian.

Fresh Water, Proper Diet & Veterinary Care

Be sure to provide fresh water in a clean container for your cat daily. Proper diet, exercise and veterinary care are the best ways to keep your cat healthy. If your cat hasn’t had a check-up in the past year, please make an appointment today.

Calorie Content (calculated) 3656 kcal/kg 408 kcal/cup

Recommended Daily Feeding Amounts
Weight Amount to Feed
5 to 9 lbs. (2.3-4.1 kg) 1/4 to 2/3 cup (28-74 g)
10 to 14 lbs. (4.5-6.4 kg) 2/3 to 1 cup (74-112 g)