‹ See All Dog Food
Ranch Raised Lamb & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food

Beyond® Simply 9 Ranch Raised Lamb & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food

All the nourishment they need. Nothing they don’t.

Nine natural, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus vitamins and minerals.

Sizes: 3.7 lb.| 14.5 lb.

Product Overview

It all starts with the ingredients. Naturally.

It’s about knowing exactly what your pet is eating – real, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus vitamins and minerals. We thoughtfully select natural ingredients that work together to deliver optimal nutrition to help your dog live a long healthy life.

Ingredients included in Ranch Raised Lamb & Whole Barley Recipe
Ratings & Reviews
Beyond ® Simply 9 Ranch Raised Lamb & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 380.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit Our dogs are big eaters... we have a Rottweiler and 2 Dobermans. One of our Dobermans, although he may look strong and protective is a very sensitive, delicate flower. Nearly ever dog food we tried caused him an allergic reaction. This is the only food that he can tolerate and we no longer have to refer to him as "scratchy". He is back to the noble steed he was meant to be
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must be good! Both of my dogs stopped eating dry food about a year ago. No matter what brand/type I would buy, I ended up returning it to the store. I even purchased a $35 5 lb bag of a top line dog food and they still would not eat it. On a which, I purchased the Simply 9 Ranch Raised Lamb & Whole Barley dry recipe and both of them are, again, eating dry food! Thank you!
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 13 yr.old dog is finally Eating again! My dog lost her appetite due to her medications. After trying so many foods she loves Loves Lamb and Whole Barley. We tried different flavors until she decided this was best for her! Thank you!!!
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy Healthy food that my dog like,thing is is to expensive for my budget
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous for my Chiweenie Lamb always sits well in her tummy. This is the best, most nutritious lamb food. She loves it. She's active, busy digging holes, barking at birds that dare to sit on her wall, and having play dates with her friend a yellow lab. I see a difference in her demeaner and energy when we can't find the lamb version of this food and have to buy a different lamb food.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my dog loves this food i have only served my dog blue buffalo and merrick, I had a coupon for the beyond, read the ingredients and thought I'd give it a try since the number one ingredient is lamb, with the blue buffalo I always had to add something to get her to eat it, wet food, well I had no wet food and when I put the beyond lamb and whole barley down she ate it as fast as she could I could not believe it, she loved the flavor, so that's what i'm buying.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Love the food. Cannot print coupon from my Apple Ipad
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! My dog has been eating Beyond dry dog food (variety) for the past year and loves it. I love it because it's grain-free and she feels satisfied having a dry food.
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I tried this brand about three months ago because my chihuahua was having coat problems and the change of food brand as helped her significantly. Her coat is shiny and she loves this food that she eats it all up unlike the other brands that I was trying that made her extremely thirsty. I highly recommend this brand!
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big difference! Our dog loves this food! We love it because he seems to have less allergies and his coat is beautiful!
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality dog food My rescue Yorkie loved your food the first day I brought him home And introduced him to Lamb and Barley food
Date published: 2016-09-17
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only brand my dogs eat! I have tried many kinds of food for my chihuahuas and they didn't seem to enjoy any of it until I tried Beyond. I don't eat corn as I don't see the nutritional value in it so why would I give it to my dogs? I was so happy when I found Beyond because they actually enjoy it! The different flavors are nice so they don't get stuck with the same thing every day and they eat less since it is actually healthy. Could not be happier with this product!
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dog loves it but i'd like some information. My dog really loves this food, he usually is a pain with dry food to be honest.I'd like some information from Purina however, I can't seem to find the sodium content for this food. My dog being on medication for CHF it is important for me to know if this is the food to go in the future.Thanks in advance.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves it My Dog was soo picky until she had Beyond i had to spend hours with her to get her to eat but i dont have to anymore because of Beyond Thanks!
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only food my two dogs will eat! After trying several brands of dog food, the Beyond Raised Lamb recipe is the only brand my two GSD/Pyrenees mixes will eat. I tried switching them to a "premium" brand but they wouldn't eat for days. I like that the food has limited ingredients, ones I can recognize and pronounce. Also, having to feed two large dogs can get expensive. Beyond is reasonably priced. That, along with a good quality food, fits the bill. The only downside is the Raised Lamb recipe isn't available in larger bags.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it! My dogs have eaten this for over 2 years. This has been the only dog food that BOTH of them will eat. They are healthy and happy and I never want to have to look for another food again!
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wiener dog is in LOVE! Since Beyond dog food came out I have not purchased another brand of dog food! Before, my dog would have gastro issues and the size of his poop was HUGE, especially for a small wiener dog. I started thinking that he was pooping all of it out! I had received a sample in the mail and after he tried it I couldn't get him to eat anything other than Beyond! I get the big bag from Walmart for around $28.00. Thank you Purina for this exceptional and nutritional dog food!
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MY SERVICE DOG STOPPED EATING TIL NOW! :D Perseus wouldn't eat he went off his food for 5 days. He lost nearly ten pounds. He stopped earing things he liked before. No clue why vet not sure either. It took 3 hours of trial and error to find somethingood he would eat as far as dry food this was the only thing other than one other thing that was very bad quality. Not Purina. I'm so glad I found this food I do wish you made a larger bag. It's OK though I fit everything in my one container this way so that OK toon. I'm so happy he's eating again. He ate ravenously tonight. Thanks so much this food at least this particular type of this food I can say is amazing and we bought the canned foods too he loves them too :)
Date published: 2016-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two Happy Doggies Tried other types of Lamb products and dogs wouldn't eat any. We're on our 4th bag. Where can we purchase larger bags?
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my boy koga loves it He's been eating it for a year now and he benefits from it every day.great stuff
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a hit! My dogs are picky eaters, especially the one but thats not the case with this food! They both love it and I feel confident that I am providing them with good quality food!
Date published: 2016-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff I have been giving my cat and dogs beyond for 6 months now and they love it..
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Switched to this brand in a pinch.... and stayed! We are very happy with this brand.... We were buying very expensive dog food because our dog's health it very important. But one day we were completely out and I needed to buy a replacement at Target... So I picked this brand! It looked healthy and passed my ingredients test! We have been feeding this exclusively for the past year and our dogs love it! Never throwing up, no health issues at all. I highly recommend this brand... it's affordable, they often have coupons, and you can pick it up at your local store! (Hated having to go to a specialty store just to buy dog food)
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My must have dog food for my dogs now! I bought this a couple weeks ago, mind you my dogs are very picky! A pitbull, and two bichon frises. As soon as I opened up the bag they came running into the kitchen going crazy. All three of them ate their entire food bowl that I filled for them and my dogs never eat dry dog food! Thank you for a wonderdul product!
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I got this food for my pug and it's the only food I buy. It is the healthiest food I've used and keeps him at a normal weight, which is unusual with pugs.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this food. I am happy that I bought it
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I bought this product since I have a coupon for it and it was a great buy. My GSD likes to eat Purina Beyond.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from well eaten My older dog who is a chihuahua, enjoyed eating the food. She tends to be picky and only eats when hungry
Date published: 2016-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs love it We bought this for the first time and our dogs love it. Our ShiTzu is a very picky eater and she ate it all up the first time we gave it to her and our Lhasa Apso likes it too. We look for healthy food and something our dogs will like. Also, the wet food is good.
Date published: 2016-05-25
  • y_2018, m_3, d_19, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_371
  • loc_en_US, sid_17800-16323, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_purina-beyond
Ingredients & Nutrition
Lamb, brewers rice, whole barley, chicken meal (natural source of glucosamine), canola meal, beef fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols, natural liver flavor, dried egg product, dried spinach
Essential Nutrients Added for a Complete and Balanced Meal
salt, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, choline chloride, Vitamin E supplement, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, niacin, Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, copper sulfate, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, calcium iodate, biotin, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of Vitamin K activity), sodium selenite.
Manufactured and guaranteed by: Nestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA

Animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate that Purina Beyond Ranch Raised Lamb & Whole Barley Recipe provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance of adult dogs.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (MIN)
Crude Fat (MIN)
Crude Fiber (MAX)
Moisture (MAX)
Linoleic Acid (MIN)
Calcium (Ca) (MIN)
Phosphorus (P) (MIN)
150 ppm
Zinc (Zn) (MIN)
0.35 ppm
Selenium (Se) (MIN)
14,000 IU/kg
Vitamin A (MIN)
150 IU/kg
Vitamin E (MIN)
400 ppm
Glucosamine* (MIN)
Omega-6 Fatty Acids* (MIN)

*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Feeding Instructions
Adult Dog Feeding Instructions

The recommended feeding amounts indicated are based upon the average nutritional needs of an adult dog with a normal activity level (using a standard 8 oz/250 ml measuring cup, which contains approximately 117 g of Purina Beyond).

Research shows that keeping your dog in ideal body condition, which includes a healthy weight, is very important in helping him live a long, healthy life. Our feeding guidelines are based on an average, normally active, adult dog. Ideal body condition may vary based on your dog's metabolism, breed size, activity level or whether your dog is spayed or neutered.

Start with our recommended amount and monitor your dog’s weight, adjusting the amount if your pet’s weight fluctuates. You should be able to easily feel your dog’s ribs and see an hourglass figure when viewed from above. Monitor your dog’s weight regularly to help impact his lifelong health.

Making the Switch to Beyond

Although you’ll be anxious to see the difference Purina Beyond can make in your dog, please allow 7 - 10 days to ease the transition from your dog's current food. This will help avoid dietary upsets. Each day, simply feed a little less of the previous food and a little more Purina Beyond until you’re feeding Purina Beyond exclusively.

No Supplements Necessary

Purina Beyond provides 100% complete and balanced nutrition for adult dogs. There is no need to add vitamins, minerals or other supplements, unless specifically directed by a veterinarian.

Fresh Water, Proper Diet & Veterinary Care

Be sure to provide fresh water in a clean container for your dog daily. Proper diet, exercise and veterinary care are the best ways to keep your dog healthy. If your dog hasn’t had a check-up in the past year, please make an appointment today.

Calorie Content (fed) 3907 kcal/kg 458 kcal/cup

Recommended Daily Feeding Amounts
Weight Amount to Feed
3 to 12 lbs. (1.4-5.4 kg) 1/3 to 1 cup (39-117 g)
13 to 20 lbs. (5.9-9.1 kg) 1 to 1-1/3 cups (117-156 g)
21 to 35 lbs. (9.5-15.9 kg) 1-1/3 to 2 cups (156-234 g)
36 to 50 lbs. (16.3-22.7 kg) 2 to 2-1/2 cups (234-293 g)
51 to 75 lbs. (23.1-34.0 kg) 2-1/2 to 3-1/4 cups (293-380 g)
76 to 100 lbs. (34.5-45.5 kg) 3-1/4 to 4 cups (380-468 g)
Over 100 lbs. (Over 45.5 kg) 3-1/4 to 4 cups plus 1/3 for each 10 lbs. of body weight over 100 lbs. (468 g plus 39 g for each 4.5 kg of body weight over 45.5 kg)

Suggested Article:

Should I Feed Real Meat Dog Food?