‹ See All Dog Food
Ranch Raised Lamb & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food

Beyond® Simply 9 Ranch Raised Lamb & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food

All the nourishment they need. Nothing they don’t.

Nine natural, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus vitamins and minerals.

Sizes: 3.7 lb.| 14.5 lb.

Product Overview

It all starts with the ingredients. Naturally.

It’s about knowing exactly what your pet is eating – real, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus vitamins and minerals. We thoughtfully select natural ingredients that work together to deliver optimal nutrition to help your dog live a long healthy life.

Ingredients included in Ranch Raised Lamb & Whole Barley Recipe
Ratings & Reviews
Beyond ® Simply 9 Ranch Raised Lamb & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 380.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finicky Dog Loves It My 6 year old dog is a very finicky eater. Recently he has been having a lot of stomach acid issues and after visiting the vet, he indicated it could be a wheat allergy. We made the switch to Beyond, and after a few days of transition, he now actually jumps up in excitement whenever I pour it into his bowl. He has been eating well, had no stomach issues, and is much more puppy-like and playful in his activities.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food Got this for fussy Pitt she loves her poop is better an no more gas
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from dogs love this food. We have struggled to find a dog food that did not cause problems. We have 3 Caviler King Charles Spaniels that were plagued with urinary problems and bloody stools...The Beyond so far after a month of eating...no more problems..and they love it!!
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our dog loves it! We're happy to find Beyond dry dog food at our local market. Our dog loves all the flavors and the price is very reasonable for a grain-free food.
Date published: 2016-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't get enough My dog loves these . They smell edible very too, which is refreshing.Every time I rattled the bag of biscuits she came running. Always an emptied bowl. Even the cat likes them. Will buy again.
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The natural way to go Beyond When it comes to dog biscuits my Labrador knows what is best. Just move the green bag and in she runs...These brown triangle biscuits with a meaty lamb smell are soon gone from het bowl. She gives a look of "can I have some more?"
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product My pit bull has food allergies and we can only feed a brand of food that is over $50 a bag. I came across this in Target and it had all the ingredients that the other brand had so I gave it a try and haven't went back to the other brand.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Food to Combat Allergies We inherited a German Shepard with some horrible allergies. We fed her Iams Mini Chunks, and Large Breed Chunks....always fed our dogs these but our GS pup was just miserable with constant itching. Our vet recommended this food....and our dog, who never got excited about dry food, was actually scarfing it down. Her itching decreased exponentially.A couple weeks ago she was diagnosed with cancer, nothing to do with the food - we started her on it just days before the diagnosis. It means so much to us that her final weeks will be itchy free, and she will keep her strength up with a full belly.Its an expensive food, comparitavely, but for family its worth it.Thank you.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dogs loved it! My dogs really liked the taste of this new Beyond. I have a lab/retriever and a yorkie and they are obviously spoiled because I always have 3 bowls of different brands/flavors of food offered to them at all times. It's clear to see when they dislike a certain food because that bowl will just sit while the other two get eaten and re-filled. This bowl was always empty so I know it was liked at least as much as the other two. The only problem I had was the price. It is just too spendy for me to purchase regularly or without a coupon or special. I do realize that it contains quality ingredients which is going to make it more expensive to make but I would buy it more often if the price was a little more reasonable. Thank you for caring about our pets Purina!
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Beagle won't eat anything else... Beyond was introduced around the time my 4-year old beagle was being weaned... she was weaned on Lamb & Barley and will not eat anything but.
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Dog food for my Cairn Terrier When my dog found me at the Pet Store, he was on his way back to the breeder because he had a jaw bone problem, kennel cough, kennel rash, an underdeveloped bladder and malnurished. I knew I had to take him home. He would not eat the Pet Store Dog Food and so after a Vet visit discovered to try to feed him only lamb and rice. I first tried the Purina One but found he would only eat the soft pieces and was not getting the nutrition he needed. Then I switched to Beyond. That is all I ever feed him. His expected life due to his problems was 4-6 years. He is now almost 12 and although he wears diapers you would never know he wasn't a young puppy.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this food I bought the bag two weeks ago an i now amdown to the last two cups my dog Gracie loves this food
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I have an english bulldog that is allergic to almost everything. The grain free allows him to get his nutrients, but also doesn't have cheap products in the food that cause additional weight gain. Also, his hair doesn't fall out due to an allergic reaction.
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very disappointed We have a 14.5 year old German Shorthaired Pointer. We looked and looked for food he would eat that would keep him healthy and active. We are very disappointed that all our local stores no longer carry the green bag. I asked at one store and the manager looked it up on his computer and told me it was discontinued.We really are sad because this was the only dry food he would eat and we are down to half of a 3 lb. bag.Can you help us please?Diana, Wayne and Wyatt
Date published: 2016-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Corgi Approved!! After bringing a puppy into our home, our adult dog wanted nothing more to do with dry food. Wet food for 2 dogs is crazy expensive! When we were at a comfortable place with the puppy to switch her to dry food, neither of our corgis wanted anything to do with what we were buying!! I went to the store on a hunt for something with great ingredients, sans chicken (or chicken by-product for that matter) that wouldn't break the bank. Just by accident did I spot the Purina Beyond Ranch Raised Lamb. The price & ingredients were corgi-parent approved, so we went for it. Our dogs LOVE it! No more wondering if the dogs have eaten today because we're serving them a product they actually like!! Thank you Purina for a great product!!
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs loved it My daughters dogs are her world. When I purchased this, I mixed it with their regular food. They ended up picking out and only eating this product.
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Switched from Blue Buffalo Lamb to Simply 9 Lamb My Three Scotties like it better, no more loose stools and I can buy it at Kroger without having make a special trip to a pet store.I only wish that you offered a 20 lb bag.Thanks!
Date published: 2016-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 2 fussy Beagles. IThey are both recues. We love the th pieces. I have tried so many dog foods but they would not eat them, I then tried Beyond with Lamb. We are so happy because the love it.Thank youBuddy and Toby
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best ever! My jack Russell is extremely picky and usually doesn't enjoy eating. All the other dry foods she would vomit up and act sick. Now she only nibbles after waiting all day, that is until I tried Beyond! She gets excited when I go to feed her and actually eats it all! There's no more vomiting and she feels great! She loves all the different flavors too! Thanks Beyond!
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALL 3 DOGS LOVE IT!! All 3 of my dogs love this food AND the extra benefit that I really love is that my super allergic dog can eat it and has no negative reactions to it. This fact is saving me money on the prescription food that I would ordinarily have to buy for him. The food smells so good that I am amazed!!
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got this for my 15 year old Doxie, he had to have most of his teeth removed so I wanted a food that was easy for him to eat. He had been losing weight and I wanted a food he could enjoy and gain some weight. I looked up on the Internet the Best Dog Foods and found the Beyond Simply 9 Ranch Raised Lamb & Whole Barley. He has put on some weight and looks good and most of all he loves the food.
Date published: 2015-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FINALLY STOPPED PAW LICKING!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Coco, my apricot toy poodle developed food allergies which caused her to lick her paws constantly! She had been on Kirkland and Blue Buffalo food. I switched to Purina Beyond lamb with limited ingredients. SHE STOPPED LICKING HER PAWS! She can also eat the canned Purina Beyond beef,potato,green bean and the salmon and sweet potato canned dog food. This food is also affordable! Thank you Purina!
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this dog food and so do my pups! My dogs Daisy and Teo loved this food from the first bag. I switch for chicken to fish to give them variety. My neighbor dogs, Sissy and Bubba love it too. They visit almost daily for a snack.
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nutritional benefits I purchased Beyond for my dog as a replacement for another Purina brand dry food which my dog had always eaten. I know I can trust Purina's brand to have my pet's health a priority. Since switching, it seems that my dog has a higher energy level eating a more natural diet.
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beyond simply 9 ranch raised lamb & whole barley I purchased this products different varieties over a month ago my dog absolutely loves it.
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dachshunds love it!! My 2 dachshunds love Beyond. and I can see a difference in their energy, their vigor, their coats, they are more active and energized.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This food is AWESOME My dog loves this new food. She absolutely devours it every mealtime. I also enjoy the price, the healthy ingredients, and the ease to acquire it at my local grocery store.
Date published: 2015-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good ingredients I recently switched my dogs normal brand of dog food to Beyond and they appear to really like it. I really like it as it's not full of fillers and other ingredients that I have no idea what they are.Several of my dogs suffer from food allergies and I've not had any problems with that since I switched to this brand.
Date published: 2015-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy I bought this for my dogs a few weeks back. They both love it. And I feel better knowing that they are eating a much healthier dog food.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver!!! I think I discovered this particular brand by Purina almost a year ago at Wal-Mart. The demo person was handing out coupons for it so I thought what the heck, let's try it. When I say THANK YOU, I can't say it enough!!! My dog is THE most pickiest dog I have EVER met! He doesn't like anything. I've gone thru the expensive stuff for most of his lil life and I've wasted my money for most of it, but I FINALLY found one he will actually eat and not knock the bowl over. Yes, my dog has an attitude! Lol If he doesn't like something, it's getting knocked over. Thanks again for helping me to find food that he likes with no complaints. :)
Date published: 2015-11-19
  • y_2018, m_3, d_19, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_371
  • loc_en_US, sid_17800-16323, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_purina-beyond
Ingredients & Nutrition
Lamb, brewers rice, whole barley, chicken meal (natural source of glucosamine), canola meal, beef fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols, natural liver flavor, dried egg product, dried spinach
Essential Nutrients Added for a Complete and Balanced Meal
salt, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, choline chloride, Vitamin E supplement, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, niacin, Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, copper sulfate, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, calcium iodate, biotin, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of Vitamin K activity), sodium selenite.
Manufactured and guaranteed by: Nestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA

Animal feeding tests using AAFCO procedures substantiate that Purina Beyond Ranch Raised Lamb & Whole Barley Recipe provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance of adult dogs.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (MIN)
Crude Fat (MIN)
Crude Fiber (MAX)
Moisture (MAX)
Linoleic Acid (MIN)
Calcium (Ca) (MIN)
Phosphorus (P) (MIN)
150 ppm
Zinc (Zn) (MIN)
0.35 ppm
Selenium (Se) (MIN)
14,000 IU/kg
Vitamin A (MIN)
150 IU/kg
Vitamin E (MIN)
400 ppm
Glucosamine* (MIN)
Omega-6 Fatty Acids* (MIN)

*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Feeding Instructions
Adult Dog Feeding Instructions

The recommended feeding amounts indicated are based upon the average nutritional needs of an adult dog with a normal activity level (using a standard 8 oz/250 ml measuring cup, which contains approximately 117 g of Purina Beyond).

Research shows that keeping your dog in ideal body condition, which includes a healthy weight, is very important in helping him live a long, healthy life. Our feeding guidelines are based on an average, normally active, adult dog. Ideal body condition may vary based on your dog's metabolism, breed size, activity level or whether your dog is spayed or neutered.

Start with our recommended amount and monitor your dog’s weight, adjusting the amount if your pet’s weight fluctuates. You should be able to easily feel your dog’s ribs and see an hourglass figure when viewed from above. Monitor your dog’s weight regularly to help impact his lifelong health.

Making the Switch to Beyond

Although you’ll be anxious to see the difference Purina Beyond can make in your dog, please allow 7 - 10 days to ease the transition from your dog's current food. This will help avoid dietary upsets. Each day, simply feed a little less of the previous food and a little more Purina Beyond until you’re feeding Purina Beyond exclusively.

No Supplements Necessary

Purina Beyond provides 100% complete and balanced nutrition for adult dogs. There is no need to add vitamins, minerals or other supplements, unless specifically directed by a veterinarian.

Fresh Water, Proper Diet & Veterinary Care

Be sure to provide fresh water in a clean container for your dog daily. Proper diet, exercise and veterinary care are the best ways to keep your dog healthy. If your dog hasn’t had a check-up in the past year, please make an appointment today.

Calorie Content (fed) 3907 kcal/kg 458 kcal/cup

Recommended Daily Feeding Amounts
Weight Amount to Feed
3 to 12 lbs. (1.4-5.4 kg) 1/3 to 1 cup (39-117 g)
13 to 20 lbs. (5.9-9.1 kg) 1 to 1-1/3 cups (117-156 g)
21 to 35 lbs. (9.5-15.9 kg) 1-1/3 to 2 cups (156-234 g)
36 to 50 lbs. (16.3-22.7 kg) 2 to 2-1/2 cups (234-293 g)
51 to 75 lbs. (23.1-34.0 kg) 2-1/2 to 3-1/4 cups (293-380 g)
76 to 100 lbs. (34.5-45.5 kg) 3-1/4 to 4 cups (380-468 g)
Over 100 lbs. (Over 45.5 kg) 3-1/4 to 4 cups plus 1/3 for each 10 lbs. of body weight over 100 lbs. (468 g plus 39 g for each 4.5 kg of body weight over 45.5 kg)

Suggested Article:

Should I Feed Real Meat Dog Food?