‹ See All Dog Food
White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food

Beyond® Simply 9 White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food

All the nourishment they need. Nothing they don’t.

Nine natural, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus vitamins and minerals.

Sizes: 4 lb.| 15.5 lb.| 24 lb.| 32 lb.

Product Overview

It all starts with the ingredients. Naturally.

It’s about knowing exactly what your pet is eating – real, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus vitamins and minerals. We thoughtfully select natural ingredients that work together to deliver optimal nutrition to help your dog live a long healthy life.

Ingredients included in White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe
Ratings & Reviews
Beyond ® Simply 9 White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1163.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent fog food We have used this product for months and dogs like it.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sheldon is mesmerized So, I was doing my shopping, and went to pets corridor, in the miracle of all dog food I found this one and decided to try it on him... let's just say I had a very calm breakfast for the first time... he really loved it, witch ain't normal... he is a very picky with dog food...
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from She LOVES it!!!!! I have bought various different brands of dry dog food (incld. Blue Buffalo, Whole Hearted, Purina Beneful) after awhile my dog would stop eating it. I came across this brand at my local Walmart and decided to give it a try and she LOVES it. This is the only dog food she has ate for over a month without having to switch. The only thing I dont like about the product is the fact that any of the Walmarts in my area carry the Grain-Free option, which I would prefer for her.
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it's grain, corn, free I brought this product for him to try about or 5 months ago because he didn't seem happy with anything else and he love's it we are finally done searching for the Perfect food thank u Purina Beyond
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sofie Love her Beyond My Sofia loves her Beyond she's super healthy and energetic.
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found a dry dog food my dog can tolerate! My boxer was prone to stomach issues. I tried a lot of different foods with adding pumpkin or cottage cheese. I decided to try Beyond 9 and no more issues. His waste elimination are so much better. No gassy stomach and he loves all the "9" flavors in the dry formula. Sometimes i dollop a few tablespoon of the Beyond wet and it's such a treat for him. Thanks for the Good limited ingredients in this products. Don't change a thing! Raider loves it!
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fussy Cats This is the only dry cat food my two cats will eat.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple but great ingredients I was not happy with the dog food that I was feeding. I wanted a dog food that was better for my 3 little ones.I did alot of research and decided upon Beyond. I am glad that I did. I had no trouble switching them over.They are more than eager to eat this food.
Date published: 2017-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Coupon was bogus but dog food is good The coupon sent to myself for our dog & to my grandmother for her dog we're both bogus - neither $5 off coupon would work. With that said, the Simply 9 both of our dogs like & eat well. The mandatory questions in this survey should have an option for "Unknown".
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Allergic Dogs to other foods I bought some small bags at the only store near me that sold it. But I decided I need bigger bags to save myself money, so when online to Wal-Mart near me they didn't carry it at all so I ended up purchasing it online, which have me free shipping to my homes back door, and at a cheaper price to boot, I bought 4-24lb bags. My 3 dogs loved this, and I've already seen an improvement in by allergic dogs skin on back, healing slowly but, at least it is looking better than it has in 3 yrs. Please get it in at the feed stores locally in the bigger bags, or Wal-Mart, at zip code 88345, or in feed stores zip code 88316..Thanks for making this Product for my dogs. I Still have not received my $5 coupon and it's be all of 6-8 weeks.
Date published: 2017-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Thank you, Finally a dry dog food that my fur baby loves!
Date published: 2017-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beyond simply 9 white meat and whole barley dog fo I just started my two dogs on it ,so far so good, they like it
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price for good food My dog has a little bit of a sensitive stomach but she does well on all the dog food options. We stuck with the chicken flavor because it was more in stock regularly at different stores. Natural recipe, no junk. Made in the USA. The dry and wet cat food was also great with my cat. Hardly spit up on it and he liked the flavors. $10 cheaper compared to other dog foods with the same ingridients. Coupons available. Good choice!
Date published: 2017-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves this food!! I was feeding my one year old Westie the food recommended by the breeder. He wouldn't eat it dry, so I had to add baby food and water to the dry food. I just tried the Purina Beyond product and he loves it - even dry! He gobbled it up! I tried mixing it with his old food and he picked out the Purina Beyond food and left the other brand in the bowl. The other brand was also a very high end, natural dog food. I'm so happy to see him enjoy his food and would highly recommend Purina Beyond.
Date published: 2017-07-01
Date published: 2017-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unhappy Coupon I love this food, well my dog loves this food. I'm always able to find coupons for it, however I just signed up for the $5 coupon 3 times and each and every single time i've checked my email there no coupon and it says they're done using it, then dont advertise it. I'm super unhappy about this coupon thing right now.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Empty bowls I used the $5 coupon to purchase this dry dog food and discovered that my two adult dogs loved it. Usually there is dry food left in their pans but not now. Thanks for the chance to try Beyond.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog's best friend I rescued a doxie and when I took her to my vet for a checkup, she recommended I feed her something with no corn or wheat. Beyond fit the bill, so I gave it a try. My little girl LOVED it! I actually got the lamb formula first, but my local Walmart doesn't seem to have it stock very often, so I switched to the chicken. My doxie loves it just as much. She starts barking the minute I go to the kitchen to feed her & doesn't stop until I put her bowl in front of her. This product is a little pricey for my income, so coupons sure help out.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! My dog had gotten tired of her old food (even though we would switch up the flavors), so we had to find something new. Beyond seemed like a great alternative choice to what we were getting before, because of it's ingredients and level of care that goes into it!My dog LOVES it, and she still has a soft, healthy coat, and seems very active and healthy! (Plus, this is a lot cheaper than the other brand we had been using!)
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for small dogs I bought Beyond for small dogs for my terrier mix dog, Chips, and he loves it. The cats even like it and it's so funny watching them all try to eat from the same bowl, until the big cat chases Chips away. With the big dog, Sammy, I mix the dry food with wet and it's gone in a flash. The small bag goes quickly with 4 animals and at $8.99 it's not too affordable. The coupons help with the cost, but I wish it came in a larger bag so I wouldn't have to go to the market so often.
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doggylicious! I have been using this dog food since the middle of May and I am so,so pleased that at last I have found a complete dog food that my very fussy Jack Russell Terrier will eat enthusiastically; she even sits by the cupboard when it's teatime ,just waiting for her food.
Date published: 2017-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond that's says it right there! Got this at target while they had a crazy special deal for nattional pet month ! Turns out not only was the deal too good to be true but so was BEYOND purina I have been feed my big boy this and switch his food too fully just purinia beyond he hasn't more energy and when meal times come I could feel his excitement again !
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baron loves it I bought it a month ago and my dog just loved it !I will definitely buy it again!!
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sofia loves and I love it I buy two at a time I had trouble finding it in my town
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Loved, Mom Approved I'm a big fan of the wholesome ingredients and simple recipe of Beyond Simply for my large half retreiver dog. She loves the food too. I just wish it were a little more reasonable, but coupons sure help!
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have tried the cheap and the expensive and this is what my dog prefer the best. I have had no issues and they love it
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! So glad I decided to give this a try. My dog loves it!
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wholesome Goodness My German Shepherd absolutely loves this food and will even eat with just water added.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love!! We had problems with another brand of dog food causing skin irritation. Switched to Beyond and he is doing so much better!
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only thing my dog will eat I have fed this to my dog for 6 and a half years now it's the only thing he will eat. I tried switching to another food but that was a waste because he wouldn't eat it. Now I stick with what he likes.
Date published: 2017-05-20
  • y_2018, m_3, d_20, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_1136
  • loc_en_US, sid_17800-16318, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_purina-beyond
Ingredients & Nutrition
Chicken, brewers rice, whole barley, canola meal, chicken meal (natural source of glucosamine), beef fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols, natural liver flavor, dried egg product, dried carrots
Essential Nutrients Added for a Complete and Balanced Meal
salt, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, Vitamin E supplement, choline chloride, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, niacin, Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, copper sulfate, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, calcium iodate, biotin, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of Vitamin K activity), sodium selenite.
Manufactured and guaranteed by: Nestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA

Animal feeding tests using AAFCO prcedures substantiate that Purina Beyond White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance of adult dogs.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (MIN)
Crude Fat (MIN)
Crude Fiber (MAX)
Moisture (MAX)
Linoleic Acid (MIN)
Calcium (Ca) (MIN)
Phosphorus (P) (MIN)
150 ppm
Zinc (Zn) (MIN)
0.35 ppm
Selenium (Se) (MIN)
14,000 IU/kg
Vitamin A (MIN)
150 IU/kg
Vitamin E (MIN)
400 ppm
Glucosamine* (MIN)
Omega-6 Fatty Acids* (MIN)

*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Feeding Instructions
Adult Dog Feeding Instructions

The recommended feeding amounts indicated are based upon the average nutritional needs of an adult dog with a normal activity level (using a standard 8 oz/250 ml measuring cup, which contains approximately 117 g of Purina Beyond).

Research shows that keeping your dog in ideal body condition, which includes a healthy weight, is very important in helping him live a long, healthy life. Our feeding guidelines are based on an average, normally active, adult dog. Ideal body condition may vary based on your dog's metabolism, breed size, activity level or whether your dog is spayed or neutered.

Start with our recommended amount and monitor your dog’s weight, adjusting the amount if your pet’s weight fluctuates. You should be able to easily feel your dog’s ribs and see an hourglass figure when viewed from above. Monitor your dog’s weight regularly to help impact his lifelong health.

Making the Switch to Beyond

Although you’ll be anxious to see the difference Purina Beyond can make in your dog, please allow 7 - 10 days to ease the transition from your dog's current food. This will help avoid dietary upsets. Each day, simply feed a little less of the previous food and a little more Purina Beyond until you’re feeding Purina Beyond exclusively.

No Supplements Necessary

Purina Beyond provides 100% complete and balanced nutrition for adult dogs. There is no need to add vitamins, minerals or other supplements, unless specifically directed by a veterinarian.

Fresh Water, Proper Diet & Veterinary Care

Be sure to provide fresh water in a clean container for your dog daily. Proper diet, exercise and veterinary care are the best ways to keep your dog healthy. If your dog hasn’t had a check-up in the past year, please make an appointment today.

Calorie Content (fed) 3879 kcal/kg 454 kcal/cup

Recommended Daily Feeding Amounts
Weight Amount to Feed
3 to 12 lbs. (1.4-5.4 kg) 1/3 to 1 cup (39-117 g)
13 to 20 lbs. (5.9-9.1 kg) 1 to 1-1/3 cups (117-156 g)
21 to 35 lbs. (9.5-15.9 kg) 1-1/3 to 2 cups (156-234 g)
36 to 50 lbs. (16.3-22.7 kg) 2 to 2-1/2 cups (234-293 g)
51 to 75 lbs. (23.1-34.0 kg) 2-1/2 to 3-1/4 cups (293-380 g)
76 to 100 lbs. (34.5-45.5 kg) 3-1/4 to 4 cups (380-468 g)
Over 100 lbs. (Over 45.5 kg) 3-1/4 to 4 cups plus 1/3 for each 10 lbs. of body weight over 100 lbs. (468 g plus 39 g for each 4.5 kg of body weight over 45.5 kg)

Suggested Article:

How to Identify Dog Food Allergy Symptoms