‹ See All Dog Food
White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food

Beyond® Simply 9 White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food

All the nourishment they need. Nothing they don’t.

Nine natural, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus vitamins and minerals.

Sizes: 4 lb.| 15.5 lb.| 24 lb.| 32 lb.

Product Overview

It all starts with the ingredients. Naturally.

It’s about knowing exactly what your pet is eating – real, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus vitamins and minerals. We thoughtfully select natural ingredients that work together to deliver optimal nutrition to help your dog live a long healthy life.

Ingredients included in White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe
Ratings & Reviews
Beyond ® Simply 9 White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1163.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great My dobermand loves it has been eating it for the past month
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent My dog is very picky about what she eats. She loves this food, it is a lot cheaper that the one I was feeding her and the vet said it is better for her than the more expensive food.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Dog, Happy Parent With this product I feel confident I'm making a quality, nutritious purchase for feeding my dog. Positive attributes for me are: Real meat is the #1 ingredient, no fillers, no by-product and no added artificial colors, flavors or preservatives. My dog would tell you, he loves the flavor.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality I changed from benefil to Beyond after hearing many recall issues and concerns due to my dogs age, needing additional nutrients. My dog overall seems to be in better health.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves this food! My Australian Shepherd absolutely loves this food!! She waits at the door and wags her butt waiting for this food. And she eats it in seconds! Her old food (Pedigree) was great but she wasn't excited to eat it like this food.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it! My dogs really love this recipe. In the interest of full disclosure, they aren't picky and love most of the brands I feed them. However, they attack this brand with a particular zeal.
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it I got a coupon for the Beyond dog food and tried their White Meat Chicken with Barley. My dogs loved it and I felt better feeding them Beyond rather than a cheaper brand that was mostly junk.
Date published: 2017-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond Simply 9 Chicken & Whole Barley for Dogs My dogs loved this blend! We had no problems even with my one dog who has a stomach issue. We will be buying this one again!
Date published: 2017-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved dog- weight/energy wise I fed my dog Beneful for years end result left him fat and unhealthy. i've heard bad things about beneful so i switched to beyond- he has lost some weight and seems to have more energy
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I have a pit bull with extremely sensitive stomach. I was having a he's time getting her something that worked well for digestive system. We tried a small bag of simply 9, perfect! She loves it, and NO digestive issues! Thank you for maiming a food my Lily can enjoy
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs like be this! I switched to Beyond a couple of months ago. My dogs really like it . I add a little of the wet food. Both of mine are healthy and happy!
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food Our dog was breaking out badly from other foods. Thanks to a friend we tried the beyond chicken and barley and she has been doing great every since. Very Happy
Date published: 2017-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beyond Cat Food Went to their web site and signed up to get a coupon to buy this. They didn't e-mail a coupon, just a link to a coupon printer app I had to download to print the coupon. O.K., I delete the app when I'm done and did the download thing. When I tried to install it, Malwarebytes wouldn't let me saying it had severe adware in it. So, I never got the coupon for $5 off and so I never bought it. That's a terrible way to treat potential customers. Heck, Bed Bath & Beyond let's me print their coupon from their web site. How had can it be? So if the company treats potential customers this way, how are they going to treat my cats?
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dog really enjoys it My dog seems satisfied after she is finished with her meal. With her other food, she still seemed to be hungry, it was loaded with fillers. I like that chicken is the 1st ingredient, there is no corn, wheat or soy and doesn't contain by-product meals.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Special Diet Dogs Love This! I normally cook for my AHT because she is very sensitive. I leave dry food out for my Dachshunds and when I got the coupon for this I gave it a try. They are all very picky eaters! THEY LOVE THIS! My Terrier has had absolutely zero digestive issues eating it, too! Great value for the price, too. It even smells delicious to me...lol.
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MADE IN THE USA I like that it's made totally in your facility, that it has no dyes. My dog likes it !!!!!!
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product My dog is picky when introducing new foods. She loves Beyond, chicken. We haven't tried the other flavors yet.
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it! I've tried many different dog foods and my two poodles seem to prefer this. I'm happy with their excitement to eat it.
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product feed this since adopting rossi 2 years ago. he still loves it and vet checks always turn out well. highly recommend!!
Date published: 2017-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dogs love it My dogs are rescued coming in under weight,dull coats, low energy within 6 weeks to a few months they are totally different. Dogs. Shiny coats full of energy and really excited at feeding time. They eat every bite and seem to love the flavor . I like the simply ingredients that I KNOW. Great dog food!!
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy, very natural My dog loves this brand of dog food! She'll eat more of this than any other food that I've given her. It must have a fresh taste to it :) I know when I open the bag and smell it I think it smells good (haha, might be a weird thing to say, but I like the smell of it!)As to the quality and safety of manufacturing products and sourcing of ingredients, those are odd questions to ask to average consumer...I don't know about those and did not research it, so whatevs...gave 5 stars anyways since I had to give rating.
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs love this! Even my fussy little dog that turns her nose up at everything will happily eat Beyond.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 9 year old dog is like a puppy! We started feeding our Basset Hound, Seamus, Beyond about 2 years ago. We had been feeding a high quality dog food prior to Beyond, but I liked the convenience of buying our food at Target vs. making a special trip to PetSmart. I wasn't expecting the transformation we saw within a week of changing food. Seamus was already healthy and active, but his energy level increased dramatically and he was more playful than ever. I can't even keep up with him on our walks! Love Beyond and feel so good about feeding this wholesome food to our beloved Seamus.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Great food and fresh! My pets seem to enjoy the food.
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Digestive My dogs love this food and they do not get a skin reaction like other food.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It is suitable for our different aged dogs We started on it because we had an older diabetic dog, and a younger dog this fit them both
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Healthy Dog Food This is a great tasting food that my dog loves. I would also buy Beyond for my cats if they didn't have food allergies.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried out a small bag for our old pup. He polished off bowl after bowl. Never does that with any other dry dog food. This gets his pawprint of approval, for sure!
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummmm My brace of Beagles really loves the taste of this food. They are more frisky and playful now that I've changed their diet to Beyond.
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I, ( and my 3 yr. Old Corgie. ) love the Beyond Dog Food. All flavors including the canned food. My only complaint is that I would love to see a bag with Mixed flavors. My Corgie loves it when I mix the bags of different flavors together.
Date published: 2017-04-06
  • y_2018, m_3, d_19, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_1136
  • loc_en_US, sid_17800-16318, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_purina-beyond
Ingredients & Nutrition
Chicken, brewers rice, whole barley, canola meal, chicken meal (natural source of glucosamine), beef fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols, natural liver flavor, dried egg product, dried carrots
Essential Nutrients Added for a Complete and Balanced Meal
salt, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, Vitamin E supplement, choline chloride, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, niacin, Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, copper sulfate, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, calcium iodate, biotin, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of Vitamin K activity), sodium selenite.
Manufactured and guaranteed by: Nestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA

Animal feeding tests using AAFCO prcedures substantiate that Purina Beyond White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance of adult dogs.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (MIN)
Crude Fat (MIN)
Crude Fiber (MAX)
Moisture (MAX)
Linoleic Acid (MIN)
Calcium (Ca) (MIN)
Phosphorus (P) (MIN)
150 ppm
Zinc (Zn) (MIN)
0.35 ppm
Selenium (Se) (MIN)
14,000 IU/kg
Vitamin A (MIN)
150 IU/kg
Vitamin E (MIN)
400 ppm
Glucosamine* (MIN)
Omega-6 Fatty Acids* (MIN)

*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Feeding Instructions
Adult Dog Feeding Instructions

The recommended feeding amounts indicated are based upon the average nutritional needs of an adult dog with a normal activity level (using a standard 8 oz/250 ml measuring cup, which contains approximately 117 g of Purina Beyond).

Research shows that keeping your dog in ideal body condition, which includes a healthy weight, is very important in helping him live a long, healthy life. Our feeding guidelines are based on an average, normally active, adult dog. Ideal body condition may vary based on your dog's metabolism, breed size, activity level or whether your dog is spayed or neutered.

Start with our recommended amount and monitor your dog’s weight, adjusting the amount if your pet’s weight fluctuates. You should be able to easily feel your dog’s ribs and see an hourglass figure when viewed from above. Monitor your dog’s weight regularly to help impact his lifelong health.

Making the Switch to Beyond

Although you’ll be anxious to see the difference Purina Beyond can make in your dog, please allow 7 - 10 days to ease the transition from your dog's current food. This will help avoid dietary upsets. Each day, simply feed a little less of the previous food and a little more Purina Beyond until you’re feeding Purina Beyond exclusively.

No Supplements Necessary

Purina Beyond provides 100% complete and balanced nutrition for adult dogs. There is no need to add vitamins, minerals or other supplements, unless specifically directed by a veterinarian.

Fresh Water, Proper Diet & Veterinary Care

Be sure to provide fresh water in a clean container for your dog daily. Proper diet, exercise and veterinary care are the best ways to keep your dog healthy. If your dog hasn’t had a check-up in the past year, please make an appointment today.

Calorie Content (fed) 3879 kcal/kg 454 kcal/cup

Recommended Daily Feeding Amounts
Weight Amount to Feed
3 to 12 lbs. (1.4-5.4 kg) 1/3 to 1 cup (39-117 g)
13 to 20 lbs. (5.9-9.1 kg) 1 to 1-1/3 cups (117-156 g)
21 to 35 lbs. (9.5-15.9 kg) 1-1/3 to 2 cups (156-234 g)
36 to 50 lbs. (16.3-22.7 kg) 2 to 2-1/2 cups (234-293 g)
51 to 75 lbs. (23.1-34.0 kg) 2-1/2 to 3-1/4 cups (293-380 g)
76 to 100 lbs. (34.5-45.5 kg) 3-1/4 to 4 cups (380-468 g)
Over 100 lbs. (Over 45.5 kg) 3-1/4 to 4 cups plus 1/3 for each 10 lbs. of body weight over 100 lbs. (468 g plus 39 g for each 4.5 kg of body weight over 45.5 kg)

Suggested Article:

How to Identify Dog Food Allergy Symptoms