‹ See All Dog Food
White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food

Beyond® Simply 9 White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food

All the nourishment they need. Nothing they don’t.

Nine natural, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus vitamins and minerals.

Sizes: 4 lb.| 15.5 lb.| 24 lb.| 32 lb.

Product Overview

It all starts with the ingredients. Naturally.

It’s about knowing exactly what your pet is eating – real, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus vitamins and minerals. We thoughtfully select natural ingredients that work together to deliver optimal nutrition to help your dog live a long healthy life.

Ingredients included in White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe
Ratings & Reviews
Beyond ® Simply 9 White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1163.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my dog loves this food,am so glad i found this dog food.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oscar eats it!!! 'Nuff Said!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bargain! My dogs have eaten premium food from pet stores which are not cheap and require a special trip. One night after 10 pm I was running low on their usual food and had to pickup dog food while grocery shopping. Beyond Simply 9 had ingredients that are similar to the one I buy from the pet stores and $3-4 less per bag. I have fat small breed dogs, so Beyond foods have to many calories. I will buy smaller bags of the premium weight control food to mix with Beyond to lower the calories count per meal.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from South Carolina Pets we saw this pet food when we were in the Walmart buying Beneful wet food, because they have the best price and we saw the we saw the Beyond dry food for dogs and like what went into to it and it was all stuff that had heard of, we were a little concerned that it was being sold in Walmart because we were buying our dog food in one of those pet store that sells more high end food, but this looked even better than what we had been buying for our dog. so we tried it and she loved it, she seems to have more energy and her coat is nicer and she is not so itchy, she been eating it for about 3 months now and doesn't seem to get tired of the taste, we do mix it with Beneful wet or Beyond wet. we like it so much we have recently switched the cat to Beyond and she loves it. Good job Purina, there is no reason to buy the high priced high end food any more.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from She loves it! I went through several brands of dry dog food for my picky fur baby, until I finally found this one. She not only dances around the kitchen when it's feeding time, but she thrives on the Purina Beyond; she's happier, and more active!
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They love it! I changed my dogs food to whole grain. The love this. Ever since eating this they no longer have stomach issues and don't throw up. The only con is the price.
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Duke loves it! Our dog Duke loves this food. I have never found one that he has responded to like this. Even our cats will try & steal a bite or two if he should leave any behind. Thank you for a great product.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doggy loves it My dog is super picky but he loves this. So this must be delicious to him.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Going on 6 years now Bucky's been eating Beyond chicken and barley for nearly 6 years now and he's THRIVING on it. His vet even says he's in exceptional condition, especially for his age. THANKS Purina.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! This is what I've been feeding our dog since we brought him home a year ago. He loves it! He's always waiting at the bottom of the stairs for me in the morning and he runs right to his bowl, waiting to be fed. He doesn't stop until his bowl is empty. I'm just glad it has good stuff for him!
Date published: 2017-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beau loves this dog food...I love the ingredients!!!
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we were looking for! My dog absolutely loves this food! She is terribly picky about her food and this is the brand for her! She refuses to eat any other brand. Thank you for making an excellent product!
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food I have been using this dog food for over a year and I love it my dog's fur shines and my grandparents and my aunt and uncle have been using it for years the best dog food made out there
Date published: 2017-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dogs LOVE it. I cook for my dogs every day, so they were not a big fan of dog food until they tried Beyond Simply 9, it was a big surprise they just love it. Thank you purina for this great dog food. <3 :D
Date published: 2017-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome food Our dog was changed to this food almost a year ago & he loves it! He has food allergies and a sensitive stomach so finding a dry food he could digest and not become bored with quickly has been a challenge. Once we discovered Beyond, we've never looked back. Thank you creating a product that our dog can enjoy!
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's ok The color isn't very appealing it looks kind of yucky but the dog likes it so I'm sold :)
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have to cats. Flip is 2 when I adopted him he had diarhea all the time. I switched his food to beyond and he never had it again
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy food he actually eats and likes He's been on it for three months now and hasn't tired of it. His overall appearance looks great and his activity level has improved.
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great choice for border collies. I had a hard time finding the right dry dog food for my border collie mix that did not upset her digestive system bc he is also allergic to dust mites. I researched and it said to feed this breed chicken for its health, so further research lead me to Beyond Chicken and it has worked great. He no longer passes gas, eats his food all at once and has perfect poop. Sorry, but we all know that is the best way to tell if your pet is healthy.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs Love it Dog only eats when hungry,fill bowl every 2 to 3 days, when Empty.Much less Dung to pick up, Regular !
Date published: 2017-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dog food Having a dog with gastric issues is a challenge. After trying many different brands of dry dog food, we tried Beyond. Out dog has done extremely well on this food. So glad we found Beyond.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My two dogs absolutely love Beyond!!! Since buying Beyond both of my dogs eat well and no throwing up or not wanting to eat. I love Beyond.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the ingredients dogs love it, I love it but wish price was lower :(
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Greta our Weim is a finicky eater and ever since swithching to Beyond, she cleans the bowl three times a day.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Ingredients! My dog has health issues and was on prescription food. When he could go back regular food I checked many many labels and was happy when I found One Beyond. My dog loves it, both the dry and the wet. Thank you for the coupon it really helped with the cost.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dogs Love It I have had my two small dogs (American Hairless Terriers) on the Beyond White Meat Chicken & Barley for about a month now and they seem to really like it. They can both be picky eaters and now they actually look forward to meals. I mix about a 1/4 can with the dry, using different varieties of Beyond canned food and they seem to like all the varieties so far. I also feed them the Beyond snacks (jerky and cookies). They seem to love all the Beyond products I have used so far and I am really happy they are all natural. Can't say their coats are healthy :) as they are hairless, but their skin does feel very nice. Thank you, Pam
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic!!! I rescued my little long-haired doxie and she was extremely anemic & underweight. I started her on Beyond Simply 9 as my vet advised I shouldn't feed her any food which contains corn. She thrived on it! I'm happy top say she is now VERY healthy & still loves her Beyond. I've also tried the lamb version and she loves it just as much. Thank you for such a fantastic product!
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped diarrhea I bought this and the cats digestive system calmed down...Great product.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good The chicken is the only kind my dog will eat. He seems to like it better than the others?
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous I feed three dogs and a large bag never lasts the month they love it so much. I fill the bowl daily.they are small dogs .
Date published: 2016-12-31
  • y_2018, m_3, d_20, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_1136
  • loc_en_US, sid_17800-16318, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_purina-beyond
Ingredients & Nutrition
Chicken, brewers rice, whole barley, canola meal, chicken meal (natural source of glucosamine), beef fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols, natural liver flavor, dried egg product, dried carrots
Essential Nutrients Added for a Complete and Balanced Meal
salt, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, Vitamin E supplement, choline chloride, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, niacin, Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, copper sulfate, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, calcium iodate, biotin, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of Vitamin K activity), sodium selenite.
Manufactured and guaranteed by: Nestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA

Animal feeding tests using AAFCO prcedures substantiate that Purina Beyond White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance of adult dogs.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (MIN)
Crude Fat (MIN)
Crude Fiber (MAX)
Moisture (MAX)
Linoleic Acid (MIN)
Calcium (Ca) (MIN)
Phosphorus (P) (MIN)
150 ppm
Zinc (Zn) (MIN)
0.35 ppm
Selenium (Se) (MIN)
14,000 IU/kg
Vitamin A (MIN)
150 IU/kg
Vitamin E (MIN)
400 ppm
Glucosamine* (MIN)
Omega-6 Fatty Acids* (MIN)

*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Feeding Instructions
Adult Dog Feeding Instructions

The recommended feeding amounts indicated are based upon the average nutritional needs of an adult dog with a normal activity level (using a standard 8 oz/250 ml measuring cup, which contains approximately 117 g of Purina Beyond).

Research shows that keeping your dog in ideal body condition, which includes a healthy weight, is very important in helping him live a long, healthy life. Our feeding guidelines are based on an average, normally active, adult dog. Ideal body condition may vary based on your dog's metabolism, breed size, activity level or whether your dog is spayed or neutered.

Start with our recommended amount and monitor your dog’s weight, adjusting the amount if your pet’s weight fluctuates. You should be able to easily feel your dog’s ribs and see an hourglass figure when viewed from above. Monitor your dog’s weight regularly to help impact his lifelong health.

Making the Switch to Beyond

Although you’ll be anxious to see the difference Purina Beyond can make in your dog, please allow 7 - 10 days to ease the transition from your dog's current food. This will help avoid dietary upsets. Each day, simply feed a little less of the previous food and a little more Purina Beyond until you’re feeding Purina Beyond exclusively.

No Supplements Necessary

Purina Beyond provides 100% complete and balanced nutrition for adult dogs. There is no need to add vitamins, minerals or other supplements, unless specifically directed by a veterinarian.

Fresh Water, Proper Diet & Veterinary Care

Be sure to provide fresh water in a clean container for your dog daily. Proper diet, exercise and veterinary care are the best ways to keep your dog healthy. If your dog hasn’t had a check-up in the past year, please make an appointment today.

Calorie Content (fed) 3879 kcal/kg 454 kcal/cup

Recommended Daily Feeding Amounts
Weight Amount to Feed
3 to 12 lbs. (1.4-5.4 kg) 1/3 to 1 cup (39-117 g)
13 to 20 lbs. (5.9-9.1 kg) 1 to 1-1/3 cups (117-156 g)
21 to 35 lbs. (9.5-15.9 kg) 1-1/3 to 2 cups (156-234 g)
36 to 50 lbs. (16.3-22.7 kg) 2 to 2-1/2 cups (234-293 g)
51 to 75 lbs. (23.1-34.0 kg) 2-1/2 to 3-1/4 cups (293-380 g)
76 to 100 lbs. (34.5-45.5 kg) 3-1/4 to 4 cups (380-468 g)
Over 100 lbs. (Over 45.5 kg) 3-1/4 to 4 cups plus 1/3 for each 10 lbs. of body weight over 100 lbs. (468 g plus 39 g for each 4.5 kg of body weight over 45.5 kg)

Suggested Article:

How to Identify Dog Food Allergy Symptoms