‹ See All Dog Food
White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food

Beyond® Simply 9 White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food

All the nourishment they need. Nothing they don’t.

Nine natural, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus vitamins and minerals.

Sizes: 4 lb.| 15.5 lb.| 24 lb.| 32 lb.

Product Overview

It all starts with the ingredients. Naturally.

It’s about knowing exactly what your pet is eating – real, recognizable ingredients you know and trust, plus vitamins and minerals. We thoughtfully select natural ingredients that work together to deliver optimal nutrition to help your dog live a long healthy life.

Ingredients included in White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe
Ratings & Reviews
Beyond ® Simply 9 White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe Dry Dog Food is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1163.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply stated ingredients ! I have been buying Beyond for several years now. My dogs love it and I Iike feeding it to them. It is the best of the best. No extra ingredients that are or can be harmful to your dog. I will continue to buy Beyond for my dogs forever !!
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs love it when my chihuahuas started having skin issues i switched their food. they are picky eaters and i have finally found a food they they all absolutley love
Date published: 2016-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond is beyond my greatest expectations! My dog has grain allergies and I bought Simply 9 to try and I love it! He is also a picky eater and hates fish, but he really goes for the Chicken & Whole Barley recipe. His coat looks better and (best of all) no more itchy skin and constant scratching!
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog does well eating this food Switching from Core Wellness to Purina Beyond. Quality ingredients, simple and natural.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Seemed like a good buy. Heard about this and thought my dog might like this since he loves chicken, but this is just not doing it for him. Cannot say why because he has been a Beneful dog since he was adopted. Both the wet and dry foods.
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dogs Love It! Dogs stopped eating their old food....no issues since I turned to Beyond Dog Food...same for my cats!
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy I have been feeding my Snoodle Peaches the Beyond since I rescued her and she woofs it down. Love the limited ingredients. Rescued a Shiu Tzu 2 months ago and she was thin, her coat was dull and straw like. She has put on a healthy 2 lbs and her coat is now shiny and soft. I have also tried the lamb and turkey and they love all of them. I am very pleased with this product.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this for my dog and he loves it he stands by his bowl waiting to eat!
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone Loves it!! I have three dachshunds, none of which have any sort of food allergies, but I have one that usually picks at his food. They all love it! I just wish it was easier to find in the store..
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food! My 3 dogs loved this food! The small bites were perfect for my "senior citizens"!
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog's, both Shepherds and mix, love this dog food. I like it because it is healthier than other dog foods, I've purchased. The dog's (both females and 6 +yrs old) have more energy. Thank you for the great favor, the girls (Geisha and Chi) love it.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I had never bought this brand before and my dogs loved it.....!
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great ingredients Love the food, but still waiting for the Beyond for small dogs to come to my stores.
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Dog Loves This Jeb loves the chicken and salmon flavors. He likes to bark at his food, throw it in the, make it bounce off the carpet, and then eat it. He makes mealtime a joyous occasion!
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing dog food My dog has been very picky about her dry dog food lately. I gave this one a shot and she LOVED it. She would finish her bowl in no time. When before it would take her 2 days to finish 1 bowl. Thank you for helping my dog eat all her food once a day.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Louie loves it! Our cocker spaniel, Louie, just loves his Beyond Dog Food.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent food! My dog has been on Science Diet for the past 9 years due to changes with Science Diet availability I was starting to have trouble finding the product in the pet food stores. I had spoken to my vet if she had told me a few brands that are advertised as very high quality to stay away from due to that information I started doing some research came acrossed Purina on Simply. I was impressed all the testing that goes into the product prior to it being manufactured. , I purchased the small bag and started mixing it with the Science Diet with the little bit that I have left once she tried the simply she refused to eat anymore of her Science Diet I have now purchased my 5th bag and now I have my dad's dog on that food also keep up the good work!
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from my dog loves it my dog very sensitive stomacg, and i have been thru many different brands an types, however, i stumbled across Beyond at Target.. I feel was the best thing i brought home that day for my lil man.. so now its my go too period, i try to keep on da search for sales and coupons for all beyond, i want him to try all of the line products now... Thanks for making a very good product..
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my dog with allergies I have been using this dog food for over a year. My dog has a terrible skin allergy had tried several others with no success. She has been doing great ever since. Just wish it wasn't so expensive
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great taste My dog loved this food!! We'll definitely be buying more flavors!!!
Date published: 2016-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dog loves it! My dog loves this food. He eats better than he ever has.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good ingrents Our dog loves it and does not puke from mthe dre or wet food
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog loves it. Recommended by son's pet groomer. Dog loves it. Like that I can read and understand it's ingredients.
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog loves it! I bought this a month ago and my little fur ball loves it! I am definitely going to get more of this brand in the future.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Deboned chicken! My little 13 year old chihuahua loves this, I finally found a food for her that she loves and stays healthy! We will be buying this as long as she can eat crunchy foods!
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for training and treats! I was having a hard time finding training food that was small and tasteful for my dog; I decided to try the Beyond Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe, and when I train or reward my dog she jumps up and down, she loves it!
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My dog love it We started 2 months ago & I have seen a difference in my boys energy. HE seems happier and loves the food.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reduced allergies I bought this brand years ago, because my dog was getting frequent ear infections. The vet suspected food allergies. Since being on this dog food and cutting out table food, he no longer has ear infections. I'm very pleased.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dogs seem to love it My dogs seem to love it and I love that it's healthier then most other brands
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used for years! My mini-schnauzer has a sensitive stomach and is a picky eater. This is the one food that she just loves and keeps her stomach in check. Enjoyed the recent $5 coupon and would like to see more coupons offered on a regular basis like other dog foods. Food is kibbles and ingredients are not recognizable.
Date published: 2016-10-29
  • y_2018, m_3, d_20, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_1136
  • loc_en_US, sid_17800-16318, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_purina-beyond
Ingredients & Nutrition
Chicken, brewers rice, whole barley, canola meal, chicken meal (natural source of glucosamine), beef fat preserved with mixed-tocopherols, natural liver flavor, dried egg product, dried carrots
Essential Nutrients Added for a Complete and Balanced Meal
salt, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate, Vitamin E supplement, choline chloride, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, niacin, Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate, thiamine mononitrate, copper sulfate, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, calcium iodate, biotin, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of Vitamin K activity), sodium selenite.
Manufactured and guaranteed by: Nestlé Purina PetCare Company, St. Louis, MO 63164 USA

Animal feeding tests using AAFCO prcedures substantiate that Purina Beyond White Meat Chicken & Whole Barley Recipe provides complete and balanced nutrition for maintenance of adult dogs.

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein (MIN)
Crude Fat (MIN)
Crude Fiber (MAX)
Moisture (MAX)
Linoleic Acid (MIN)
Calcium (Ca) (MIN)
Phosphorus (P) (MIN)
150 ppm
Zinc (Zn) (MIN)
0.35 ppm
Selenium (Se) (MIN)
14,000 IU/kg
Vitamin A (MIN)
150 IU/kg
Vitamin E (MIN)
400 ppm
Glucosamine* (MIN)
Omega-6 Fatty Acids* (MIN)

*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.
Feeding Instructions
Adult Dog Feeding Instructions

The recommended feeding amounts indicated are based upon the average nutritional needs of an adult dog with a normal activity level (using a standard 8 oz/250 ml measuring cup, which contains approximately 117 g of Purina Beyond).

Research shows that keeping your dog in ideal body condition, which includes a healthy weight, is very important in helping him live a long, healthy life. Our feeding guidelines are based on an average, normally active, adult dog. Ideal body condition may vary based on your dog's metabolism, breed size, activity level or whether your dog is spayed or neutered.

Start with our recommended amount and monitor your dog’s weight, adjusting the amount if your pet’s weight fluctuates. You should be able to easily feel your dog’s ribs and see an hourglass figure when viewed from above. Monitor your dog’s weight regularly to help impact his lifelong health.

Making the Switch to Beyond

Although you’ll be anxious to see the difference Purina Beyond can make in your dog, please allow 7 - 10 days to ease the transition from your dog's current food. This will help avoid dietary upsets. Each day, simply feed a little less of the previous food and a little more Purina Beyond until you’re feeding Purina Beyond exclusively.

No Supplements Necessary

Purina Beyond provides 100% complete and balanced nutrition for adult dogs. There is no need to add vitamins, minerals or other supplements, unless specifically directed by a veterinarian.

Fresh Water, Proper Diet & Veterinary Care

Be sure to provide fresh water in a clean container for your dog daily. Proper diet, exercise and veterinary care are the best ways to keep your dog healthy. If your dog hasn’t had a check-up in the past year, please make an appointment today.

Calorie Content (fed) 3879 kcal/kg 454 kcal/cup

Recommended Daily Feeding Amounts
Weight Amount to Feed
3 to 12 lbs. (1.4-5.4 kg) 1/3 to 1 cup (39-117 g)
13 to 20 lbs. (5.9-9.1 kg) 1 to 1-1/3 cups (117-156 g)
21 to 35 lbs. (9.5-15.9 kg) 1-1/3 to 2 cups (156-234 g)
36 to 50 lbs. (16.3-22.7 kg) 2 to 2-1/2 cups (234-293 g)
51 to 75 lbs. (23.1-34.0 kg) 2-1/2 to 3-1/4 cups (293-380 g)
76 to 100 lbs. (34.5-45.5 kg) 3-1/4 to 4 cups (380-468 g)
Over 100 lbs. (Over 45.5 kg) 3-1/4 to 4 cups plus 1/3 for each 10 lbs. of body weight over 100 lbs. (468 g plus 39 g for each 4.5 kg of body weight over 45.5 kg)

Suggested Article:

How to Identify Dog Food Allergy Symptoms